allie knits

a knitter who sometimes crochets and is learning to spin, while fighting startitis and project ADD

Summertime

Posted by allie on June 19, 2006

This has been the project I’ve been focusing on this summer thus far. I took it on the plane with me to France, but lacework and planes, not the best combination. Once I got home, I really began to work on it and finished the first half last weekend, but have only just begun the second half. I am really loving this pattern, although there are some issues in the pattern. It’s from Saunshine and it’s a great way to use up the rest of my Cotton-Ease stash.

While in the Loire Valley, we went to visit Chambord a palace of King Francis the 1st. While wandering through this massive stone chateau, I found a loom with many lengths of beautifully dyed wool (Sadly, the closest I came to any yarn the entire trip). I am very jealous of those with dying and spinning abilities. Sometime in the near future, I would love to at least attempt those tasks. Luckily, I found out the other day that my, um…., boyfriend’s best friend’s mom dyes and spins her own yarn, so maybe I won’t have to learn all on my own.

Back to France, I have begun a scrapblog to catalogue all of my pictures I took in order to conserve paper and share pictures with friends, etc., on-line. Check it out if you have the time, but it’s not nearly finished and will have many more pages added presently.
Anyway, I have high hopes for finishing my Sweet Tank by the end of June. I will keep the blog updated (seriously) with progress, at least weekly. Keep on having a great summer and if anyone gets bored, check out the Monthly Dishcloth KAL blog for a couple of lines of a dishcloth pattern daily!
Hope everyone is having a tremendous summer!!

Leave a Reply

 
