allie knits

a knitter who sometimes crochets and is learning to spin, while fighting startitis and project ADD

Crunch Time

Posted by allie on December 13, 2006

Well, Christmas is in 13 days… that’s right, 13. So far, I still need to knit a hat, a scarf, and I’m sure there are other things I’ve blocked out.

This hat is one of my new favorite patterns and I can’t wait to knit it for myself. It looks finished, but don’t be fooled. I didn’t have size US 11 dpns, so I tried to use a circular needle with the Magic Loop, it’s very gappy and horrific. I will either get some 11’s or just use my 10 1/2’s. Either way, my Secret Santa ought to really like this hat… I hope.

I do not have a picture of my Mom’s purple scarf right now, but I will have one soon. Plus it’s only about 5 rows into the pattern.

I had some friends over who thoroughly enjoyed learning to knit. See what I mean?


Her scarf is really amazing: RIBS ON HER FIRST DAY!!!

She also called me tonight to tell me she finished her first 100 g skein *tear* and needs my help in attaching the new skein. Oh so excited, yet another convert.

I went to Loops again today and picked up some great yarn— which actually have intended projects, a rarity. Some Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran for Fetching, which I’ve already cast on (I’m almost done with the first right now, but I took the picture earlier), and some Mission Falls 1824 Wool for Cabled Footies from One Skein.

One Response to “Crunch Time”

  1. Stephanie said

    I have been wanted to do the fetching kniting for a while. Looks like a fun project.
    Stephanie http://www.mesocrafty.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
