allie knits

a knitter who sometimes crochets and is learning to spin, while fighting startitis and project ADD

Scarves, Socks, and Snow… Oh my!

Posted by allie on February 4, 2007

Two Finished Objects

I woke up this morning and began to knit with a vengeance. I finished Hunter’s blanket, finally!! Only 13 days late. Since he had a regional swim meet today, he took a nap with the blanket this afternoon. I will post a picture of him and the blanket together soon.

Cast-on: Summer 2005/ Finished: February 3, 2007
Pattern:
Yarn: JoAnn Sensations Rainbow Boucle (acrylic/nylon blend) I bought this yarn WAY before I became a fiber purist
Needles: US 10 Interchangable needles, Adii 40″ circular, and Susan Bates Quiksilver straight needles, I got so bored with this project that switching needles made it more bearable
Notes: I started this pattern when I was still a relatively novice knitter and it is SOOOO monotonous. I will NEVER make a garter stitch blanket again!!!

Once I finished the blanket, I decided to cast off my Bejewled and weave in all the ends. I wore it to work tonight, even though I haven’t blocked it yet. And every time I looked down, I DID feel a little fancy!

Cast-On: January 16, 2007/ Finished: February 3, 2007
Pattern: Bejeweled by Lisa Shobhana Mason
Yarn: Universal Yarn Inc Eden Silk (wool/silk blend) Color: Sky
Needles: Clover Takumi US 8
Modifications: I think my scarf is a little shorter than the pattern instructs, but only because I didn’t want to run out of yarn
Notes: I can’t wait to use this yarn again. It is a treat to work with and has great stitch definition. Definitely a favorite!

Project Spectrum

I took these pictures on Day 1 of PS and haven’t had a chance to post them yet. Thursday happened to be the only “Snow Day” we will be having here in east TN.
White and Gray:

I posted my yarn for the Cable net socks and began swatching a few days ago. I’ve been focused on Hunter’s blanket for the most part and haven’t done too much swatching yet.
Blue:

Miscellaneous

The Yarn Haven just opened replacing my old LYS Knit n Purl. The selection is beautiful and the owner is SOOO sweet. If you’re ever in Knoxville, check it out!! I bought a couple skeins of yarn to make a beret next fall, because I don’t really have the time now and it’s almost warm again.

One Response to “Scarves, Socks, and Snow… Oh my!”

  1. pantoufle said

    I wasn’t even aware that Knit’n’Purl closed. I just moved away in September. What about Loops?

Leave a Reply

 
