allie knits

a knitter who sometimes crochets and is learning to spin, while fighting startitis and project ADD

Busy, Busy, Busy

Posted by allie on March 13, 2007

I cast on a pair of Cable Footies from One Skein last Wednesday. I finished the first Saturday

and cast on the second yesterday and I am nearing the finish line. My second pair of socks has been fun– worsted weight makes the project go by so quickly!! These socks are for my boyfriend, Hunter,’s mother, who enjoys hating me. Bribery works sometimes, doesn’t it??

At Urban Outfitters, I bought Sew U and I CAN’T WAIT to learn how to sew. A little while ago, I played around with my mom’s old machine and stitched some muslin, just to get the feel of the machine. I have a long way to go before I achieve anything wearable, but I’m still very excited.

College decisions have been nearly finalized and if I go to the nicer, more expensive school that I love, I will be making many sacrifices in the name of frugality. I’m hoping very much that I can take handmade objects to the next level. Wish me luck!

One Response to “Busy, Busy, Busy”

  1. Susan said

    Un-freak’in believable!
    Granted, my socks aren’t nearly as cute as yours, but I did just complete a pair of toe-ups and some pocket slippers.
    AND I sew and am currently finishing a Little Red Riding Hood cape for one of my nieces for a school play.
    Apparently we live parallel lives…except you’re younger, blonder & cuter. (damn!)
    Come visit me, I’m running a contest right now for St. Paddy’s Day 😉

    -Susan.

    **Love that you knit those for your boyfriends Mom. Kill’em w/kindness I say. She’ll come around. Cute & Crafty is an irresistable combination!

Leave a Reply

 
