allie knits

a knitter who sometimes crochets and is learning to spin, while fighting startitis and project ADD

Recent Obsessions

Posted by allie on June 7, 2007

I got my Ravelry invite this morning! It was very exciting: I’ve already added many projects and as much yarn as I could before my camera’s battery died and I got tired of taking pictures. It’s definitely as much fun as I heard it was– hats off to frecklegirl and her husband for taking on such a project.
I bought a few books the other day:

Knitting Lingerie Style is such a beautiful book and with many patterns I love and cannot wait to knit. I ordered some elann Esprit last night so I can make the basic bra and panty set(Orchid Pink) and the thigh-high stockings(Chamois). Very excited!


I’ve been eying this book for a while. What drew me to it initially was the French Twist part, but Simple Sewing with a French Twist has many simple projects that I think even I could make.


Last, but most certainly not least, is Amy Sedaris’ new book I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence. It is amazing. I was reading it yesterday in the same room as Hunter and I kept bursting out laughing. He thought I was a little crazy, but I never said I wasn’t. She makes me want to throw amazing parties and be just the quirky woman that I am. Love it… it’s been my night-time reading for the past two days!

Also, I’ve been anxious to make nona’s sidewinder socks, but I didn’t have the right size circulars. I ordered a few of KnitPick’s classic circulars so that I can knit them as soon as the needles arrive. They will be arriving with a couple more books, ones I’ve also been lusting after for quite a while.

Until next time, I will be wasting hours upon hours of my life, and possibly losing real-life friends, while I play with Ravelry!

2 Responses to “Recent Obsessions”

  1. diana said

    great books! All of those are on my amazon wish list!

  2. Susan said

    Fantastic book purchases!

    Cannot wait to see the sidewinders!

    ** Very jealous over here…Still haven’t been invited to play with Ravelry 🙂 I hear amazing things about it! Have fun!!!

Leave a Reply

 
