allie knits

a knitter who sometimes crochets and is learning to spin, while fighting startitis and project ADD

Just for Fun!

Posted by allie on June 20, 2007

This has been going around and I didn’t have much to post about today, so…
Legend:
Stuff I’ve done/am doing
Stuff I’d like to do
Stuff that I’ll probably never do

Afghan– for my dorm and I started one that’s now lying in the UFO pilo
I-cord
Garter stitch
Knitting with metal wire
Shawl– Hidcote’s on the needles
Stockinette stitch
Socks: top-down

Socks: toe-up
Knitting with camel yarn
Mittens: Cuff-up
Mittens: Tip-down

Hat
Knitting with silk
– currently
Moebius band knitting
Participating in a KAL– the only one I’ve actually finished the pattern is the Central Park Hoodie
Sweater
Drop stitch patterns

Knitting with recycled/secondhand yarn
Slip stitch patterns
Knitting with banana fiber yarn
Domino knitting
Twisted stitch patterns
Knitting with Bamboo yarn
– waiting to be able to afford enough for Interweave patterns
Two end knitting- not sure I know what this is?
Charity knitting– something I’ve been meaning to do, but I always get distracted. I’m a selfish knitter.
Knitting with soy yarn- just waiting till I can afford enough for an Interweave pattern
Cardigan
Toy/Doll clothing
Knitting with circular needles
Baby items

Knitting with your own handspun yarn– once I am a better spinner
Slippers– making the bf some for Christmas, will buy the yarn soon
Graffiti knitting (knitting items on, or to be left on the street)
Continental Knitting– recently learned and now I can’t do English because it takes so much longer. Very glad I made the switch
Designing knitted garments
Cable stitch patterns (incl. Aran)– getting better every time
Lace patterns– my lace abilities are still lacking, but they will improve, with practice
Publishing a knitting book
Scarf– not so many anymore
Teaching a child to knit
American/English knitting (as opposed to continental)

Knitting to make money– but not selling knitted items, maybe owning a yarn store
Buttonholes
Knitting with Alpaca

Fair Isle Knitting– maybe if I tried again, it would look better
Norwegian knitting
Dying with plant colors- this appeals to the naturalist in me
Knitting items for a wedding- probably just for my own, but you never know
Household items (dishcloths, washcloths, tea cosies…)
Knitting socks (or other small tubular items)on two circulars
Olympic knitting
– I didn’t finish, but I tried, half-heartedly
Knitting with someone else’s handspun yarn
Knitting with dpns
Holiday related knitting
Teaching a male to knit
– still trying to convince the bf to let me teach him, one day he will, he just doesn’t know it yet
Bobbles
Knitting for a living– that would be cool, but will probably never happen
Knitting with cotton
Knitting smocking

Dyeing yarn
Steeks

Knitting art
Knitting two socks (or other small tubular items) on two circulars simultaneously– what I need to do to banish my SSS
Fulling/felting
Knitting with wool
Textured Knitting
Kitchener Bind Off
Purses/bags

Knitting with beads
Swatching– something I need to be more consistent about
Long Tail CO- my favorite
Entrelac– LOVE Eunny’s socks
Knitting and Purling Backwards
Machine knitting- for some reason I feel like this is a sell-out, no offense to those who machine knit, cause I might get bored one day and fall in love w/ it
Knitting with selfpatterning/selfstriping/variegating yarn– why does this make me feel so clever sometimes? especially when there’s no pooling
Stuffed Toys
Knitting with Cashmere
Darning

Jewelry
Knitting with synthetic yarn
Writing a pattern
Gloves

Intarsia
Knitting with Linen
Knitting for preemies
Tubular CO
Freeform knitting
Short rows– I need to get more comfortable with short rows, stat, they are much quicker than heel flap/gusset
Cuffs/fingerless mitts/armwarmers
Pillows
Knitting a pattern from an online knitting magazine

Rug– Mason-Dixon rugs are on my to-knit list
Knitting on a loom– I tried this once, but couldn’t get the hang of it
Thrummed knitting
Knitting a gift– does it count if the gifts are ALWAYS late?
Knitting for pets
Shrug/Bolero/Poncho
– got a few from Lace Style on my to-knit list
Knitting with dog/cat hair- I think I draw the line at domestic pets, if I have goats, alpacas, no problem
Hair accessories- made a headband once, not sure what other hair accessories I’d knit
Knitting in public- always!!

Leave a Reply

 
